Quotes of the Legendary Charlie Chaplin

Standard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Life is a beautiful, magnificent thing, event to a jellyfish…
The trouble is you won’t fight.
You’ve given up. But there’s something just as inevitable as death.
And that’s life. Think of the power of the universe; turning the Earth,
growing the trees. That’s the same power within you,
if you’ll only have the courage and the will to use it.”

“Failure is unimportant. It takes courage to make a fool of yourself.”

“We think too much and feel too little.”

“Life is a tragedy when seen in close-up, but a comedy in long-shot.”

“The basic essential of a great actor is that he loves himself in acting.”

“I had no idea of the character. But the moment I was dressed, the clothes and the make-up made me feel the person he was. I began to know him, and by the time I walked onto the stage he was fully born.”

“I am what I am: an individual, unique and different, with a lineal history of an ancestral promptings and urgings, a history of dreams, desires, and of special experiences, of all of which I am the sum total.”

“Actors search for rejection. If they don’t get it they reject themselves.”

“Nothing is permanent in this wicked world – not even our troubles.”

“That is why, no matter how desperate the predicament is, I am always very much in earnest about clutching my cane, straightening my derby hat and fixing my tie, even though I have just landed on my head.”

“What do you want a meaning for? Life is a desire, not a meaning.”

“A day without laughter is a day wasted.”

“You’ll never find a rainbow if you’re looking down”

“Imagination means nothing without doing.”

“Mirror is my best friend because when I cry it never laughs at me”

Leave a Reply

